Decluttering Books & Papers

Books

Early in the year I donated some books but since I wanted to follow the KonMari Method, I decided I would declutter my book collection. With the help of my niece, we piled all the books I owned on the couch. It filled the seats and was once again surprised at how much I owned. From the whole process I learned that I liked seeing my books and needed them to be more accessible. I sorted the books in a more functional way and have To Be Read (TBR) shelves. In the end, I was able to find a few more books to donate.

Donate
TBR

Papers

The papers in my life weren’t organized and took up a lot of space. This took me all morning but needed to be done. Everything from letters, sentimental items, and documents were mixed together and unorganized. From the pile I started with, I was able to shred over half of it. My important documents are filed together and sentimental ones saved for the last category to tidy.

My space already feels lighter and cleaner. Things aren’t stuffed in drawers or containers, so I will continue through with this method.

One thought on “Decluttering Books & Papers

Leave a comment